Contact your Legislators: Reauthorization of the Older Americans Act

Back in April, I reached out too many individuals, organizations and vendors about the importance of contacting your legislators in Washington D.C. about the reauthorization of the Older Americans Act (OAA).  We saw a great push and the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions (HELP) was working hard to get it passed.  However, in the middle of July, the reauthorization process has stalled. 

What can you do?  Reach out to your Representative and Senators and ask them to support the reauthorization of the Older Americans Act!  The OAA serves millions of people throughout the nation.  Some programs include:

  • Congregate and Home Delivered Meals
  • Home and Community Based Supportive Services
  • Family Caregiver Support Services
  • Employment Services

The OAA provides access to food, transportation and caregiving services to millions of older adults.

We must reach out to our congressional leaders, especially Senator Tina Smith who sits on the HELP Committee, as the OAA is set to expire on September 30, 2019.

What is MNRAAA doing?  We have reached out to Senator Tina Smith to work on establishing a round table discussion with our Title III Providers to provide examples from Southwest Minnesota of the value of the OAA.  We will also be reaching out to Senator Klobuchar and Representatives Peterson and Hagedorn.  We will also be working on sending out support letters with our Title III providers and other stakeholder groups.

Below is how you can get in touch with your Representatives and Senators.  If you have any questions or need further assistance, please reach out to our offices.

Please be aware that Senator Klobuchar and Senator Smith represent all of Minnesota.  Representative Hagedorn represents Minnesota Congressional District 1, which includes the following counties, within in our service area: Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood (portion), Faribault, Jackson, Martin, Murray, Nicollet, Nobles, Pipestone, Rock, Waseca and Watonwan.  Representative Peterson is the representative for Minnesota Congressional District 7 which includes the following counties, within in our service area; Big Stone, Cottonwood (portion) Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Murray, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Sibley, Swift, and Yellow Medicine.  If you need assistance, please feel free to reach out to me for further guidance.

*Information gathered from n4a and ASA


Jason W. Swanson, HSE
Executive Director
Minnesota River Area Agency on Aging

Share on: